There are so many things I could call this post.

“One is the Lonliest Number”

“I’ve Been Lazy and I Need to Get With It”

“It’s Not Really Marathon Training if You Only Do Long Runs”

“I Swear I’ll Do Better This Week”

 

I couldn’t decide which of these titles would work the best, so I’ll let you decide.  This is supposedly week three of my marathon training program.  I say supposedly because I’ve done a total of two long runs and… yeah, that’s it.  Oh.  I also purchased a bike that I have yet to ride.  And tonight I went bowling… does that count as cross-training?

This season marks my second attempt at the Chicago Marathon.  I’m praying that the weather gods cooperate this year, and we actually get October weather so I can cross the finish line.  After two years of running with Team in Training, I’ve got a new cause this year.  I’m running with Girls on the Run Sole Mates.  I’m also signed up to run with CARA (Chicago Area Runners Association), but I have yet to make it out to one of the training runs.  Chicago just seems so far to drive for a measly 5.. 6… 7 mile run. 

So yesterday I did the same thing I did this Saturday.  I slept late, which meant heading out to run when it was somewhere around 90 degrees outside.  Then I laced up my running shoes with high hopes of completing Hal Higdon’s “Intermediate” amount of running.  After walking outside, I thought to myself, Well, the beginner plan will still get me across the finish line… so last week’s 9-miler became 7.13 miles, and this week’s 6-miler became 4.96 miles.  (Yeah, I didn’t even make it to the “beginner” 5 miles this week.  Pathetic.)

My first attempt at Chicago, or any marathon for that matter, was in 2007.  I ran with Team in Training.  Or, really, I chased other Team in Training runners every Saturday morning.  But I had coaches out there who couldn’t go home until I accomplished all of my mileage, so at least someone was checking in on me.  Last year, I trained for the Nike Women’s Marathon in SanFrancisco with my friends Melissa and Lauren.  This time, I’m back to training solo, and I have nobody checking in on me while I’m putting in that mileage.  Talk about a test of honesty and self-motivation.  So far, I’m failing miserably.

I’m not sure why I’m doing this to myself.  I know that I don’t want to be hobbling across the finish line as they are closing down the race.  Even though I have a hard time admitting it (even to myself) I’m getting sick of being the slowest of the slowpokes.  I mean, even Oprah ran a marathon in 4:30.  I should at least be able to get in the 5-hour range.  I’d really love a 5:something marathon time.  Even 5:59:59.  I won’t even mention my SanFrancisco time or the nightmare crossing that finish line turned out to be.  And yet, in three weeks of training time, I’ve logged 12.09 miles out of a total 56 I should have done.  There’s no way I’m going to be successful on race day if I keep this up.

My alarm is set for 6:00 am tomorrow.  The schedule says “rest day,” but I skipped my hour of cross-training today.  So tomorrow, I’ll head out for a bike ride.  Tomorrow, I get serious.  Because it’s about time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Run

Leave a Reply

