Fleet Feet Women’s 5k, 10k, & Festival: Race Report

I have signed up for this 10k for the past two years, and something always comes up. Family vacation… baptism… but I guess third time’s the charm, because I finally got to run this race today!

The weather was perfect, 60ish degrees. Not exactly a normal July day, but perfect for a run by the Lakefront. The course itself was pretty similar to the Wondergirl 5k, just twice as long. It started and ended in Montrose Harbor. There were lots of great booths, giveaways, and the race shirt is awesome. My only complaint about the race itself is how crowded it gets. The 5k and 10k start together, and when the pack of runners makes it from the parking lots to the Lakefront path, it gets a bit jumbled for a while. Slow as I am, even I had to run in the grass to pass some walkers and slower runners. According to my Garmin, I ran 6.27 miles today. I wouldn’t be surprised if I added .07 by weaving in and out of other women.

At any rate, I have decided I love the 10k distance. It’s long enough to feel like a big race, but it’s short enough to be comfortable. It’s too bad it’s not a terribly common race distance.

And now to the nitty-gritty of the race…

I surprised myself by waking pretty easily when the alarm went off at 4:00 am. By 4:30, Jon and I were ready to go, and we left for Chicago. I munched on a bagel and downed a bottle of water as we drove. We made it to Montrose Harbor with time to spare, so we toured the booths after I picked up my packet. I’m now obsessed with my new Luna Lemon Zest Chapstick. I wish I grabbed about 17 more tubes of that stuff. That’s what I get for being polite.

At 7:00, I watched the other women do some sort of warm up workout. I probably would have joined in if I was running with a group of friends, but it seemed silly to do by myself. I waited until about 7:15 and headed over to the start area. At 7:30, Fleet Feet’s CEO fired off the gun and we were on our way. I felt a little speedy, so I checked my pace: 9:53. Um, yeah. Slow down, girl.

Despite tremendous efforts to slow down, my running pace stayed somewhere between 10:30 – 11:15 today. My walking pace was even somewhere around 15:00. I suppose the conditions just alligned to give me a perfect day for a run.

I noticed the Mile 1 marker at just over 11:00, and was worried I’d doomed myself by starting off too quickly. Mile 2 came and went around 22:30. When Mile 3 went by around 34:00, I became convinced that I could push it to get in under a 12:00 minute mile. And other than that, there’s not much to report. I ran when I was supposed to run. I walked when I was supposed to walk. I ran hard. I felt great. The thing about good races is there aren’t as many stories to tell!

Clock time: 1:14:ish
Watch time: 1:12:46
Chip time: 1:12:37

According to chip time, that makes my pace 11:42. And the best news? My projected marathon time is 5:40:49.

I couldn’t be happier.

1 Comment

Filed under Run

One response to “Fleet Feet Women’s 5k, 10k, & Festival: Race Report

  1. Pingback: 2009: A Year in Review «

Leave a Reply

