I’m a Princess!

Yesterday morning, I ran the CARE 4 Breast Cancer 5k in Lippold Park (Crystal Lake).  I had a blast running with my team, the Pink Princesses.  Race day started promising enough, with gray skies but no rain.  Once again, we got chillier than necessary waiting for a race with a delayed start.  (What was it with races and delays this weekend?!)  We huddled together, shaking in the cold, for an extra half hour yesterday thanks to traffic congestion.  The good news is a lot of people were coming out to support a great cause.  I guess I can’t complain too much, right?

As we made our way to the starting line around 8:45, we heard other runners and walkers saying that runners were supposed to be in the front.  Shoot.  This was the first we’d heard of this.  We tried to get as far forward as we could, but there were more walkers there than any of us realized.  I spent much of the first mile dodging walkers and weaving around.  Because of the time it took me to start and all of my weaving, mile one came at about 13 minutes.  From there, I was finally out of the crowds for the most part.  The miles just kind of ticked by.  At Barb’s reccommendation, I did this run without any gadgets.  I even left the watch at home.  Without a run/walk timer going off, I just ran… and ran… all the way to the finish line.  Despite a first mile of 13 minutes, my overall time for the race was about 34 minutes.  (There were no chip times for the race, so that’s probably as exact as I’ll get.)  With a 5k PR of 32:14, I’m pretty psyched that I was able to pull off some really strong times for miles 2 and 3.  Could this be the year I get stronger?

After I finished, I ran back to cheer like a crazy person and run in a few friends.  Many of the women I ran with yesterday were running their first 5ks, and they all did awesome!  It was a whole lot of fun to be a part of so many debut 5ks this weekend.  I’m really having too much fun with this running thing right now.  Who knew that a girl who used to cry the night before the mile in gym class would ever sign up for two 5ks in the same weekend?

2 Comments

Filed under Run

2 responses to “I’m a Princess!

  1. D'Andra

    You are really amazing, Lauren! Thanks for being a part of the team and hopfully next year I’ll be running that one!

Leave a Reply

