Balancing Act

In 2007 and 2008, I trained for October marathons and then went into hiding until the Shamrock Shuffle.  Determined not to let that happen this year, I set some goals for myself after the marathon.  Then, I immediately sprung into action to work towards those goals.  I have to admit, I’m a little bit impressed with myself right now.

Have I made it out for every run I’ve planned on?  No.  But I have done much better than ever before.  I’ve gone to Yoga weekly for the past three weeks.  Monday will mark my third week of core/spin.  I’ve run at least twice a week.  I’ve also met with Bridget twice, and have my third meeting already set up.  I’m learning great things about nutrition and health, and I’m actually excited to cut the junk out of my diet.

I always used to skip workouts, claiming I didn’t have time to fit it in.  There were too many other things on my plate.  I’m finally learning something I wish I’d known all along.  When I take the time to “fit it in,” I’m actually accomplishing more with the rest of the day.  I’m energized; I’m productive.  I’ll come home from a 5k and start doing the laundry and grading papers.  Finding balance in my life is making me happier, healthier, and I’m accomplishing more.  Who knew?

Most importantly, I love everything I’m doing.  I’ve also become a total race junkie.  I want to sign up for everything.  I think every race looks exciting.  I keep telling Jon that the money we’re saving on fast food will pay for my new race obsession.  The sad part is, it’s probably true.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Balancing Act

  1. YAY! I found your blog! Love it and I will read it now regularly! YOU should be proud of yourself – lots of good things to come in 2010 !! :)

Leave a Reply

