Weak in the Knees

My daily internet routine consists of checking e-mail, Facebook, a few running blogs, and Pace of Chicago.  Today was just another day of surfing the net until I looked at the sidebar on Pace of Chicago — the article David Wallach wrote about running the marathon with me had a new comment!

I’m not embarrassed to admit that I actually squealed when I saw that the comment was from Molly Barker, founder of Girls on the Run International.

Lauren is, without question, the epitome of what Girls on the Run is all about! Strong, persevering, authentic, open and humble. I consider myself one of the most fortunate women on the planet to be associated with someone like her.

Way to go Lauren. Run on sister!

Molly Barker, Founder of Girls on the Run International

I still can’t believe that an amazing woman like Molly took the time to say such kind words about me.  I feel like I owe so much to her for starting Girls on the Run and giving me a great way to bond with my students, enjoy the sport I love, and empower young women.  I’ve seen first hand the lives that Girls on the Run changes.  Nothing tops the sight of 8 – 12 year old girls beaming after accomplishing their first 5k run.  Nothing.  And Girls on the Run does more than just that — it empowers young women to believe in themselves, and to stay out of the “girl box.”  It’s one awesome organization, to say the least, and one I’m thrilled to participate in.

I’m still smiling over here.  Thank you, Molly!

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Run

2 responses to “Weak in the Knees

  1. That is wonderful! (I found your blog through a friend.) I was a Girls on the Run coach last season when my work schedule allowed it, and I found it to be such a rewarding experience!

  2. AWESOME! I did some stuff for Girls on the Run out here in Hoffman Estates too and loved it. GOOD FOR YOU, lauren! :)) yay.

Leave a Reply

