Time for a New Challenge

I ran my second-best 5k time last Saturday.  32:17.  Despite initial dissappointment, I’m pretty pleased with myself right now.  But now is not the time for race reports.  Now is the time to come clean.  I’ve been hiding something.

2010 is going to be the year of the tri. 

At first, it was going to be the year I learned to bike.  Despite the fact that all of my endurance athlete friends swore up and down that I’d get bitten by the tri bug, I held firm that I did not want to swim.  I should have known it would all be over when I watched Barb take on Ironman Arizona.  I learned two things as a spectator on that course: 1. I will do a triathlon this year.  2. I will not ever do a mass swim start.  (You can quote me on that one.  It was probably the scariest thing I’ve ever seen!)

My first swimsuit came in the mail today!  I met with Jen Harrison to map out my 2010 race season.  My very first tri will be the Together We Tri indoor triathlon on March 21, 2010.  I’m gunning for my first real triathlon to be the Galena Triathlon in May.  It’s bound to be a cold swim, but it’s also a short one.  We’ll see.

At any rate, 2010 will be a year of learning two new sports, new lingo, new training programs, and maybe even a year to excel at the sport I love most.

4 Comments

Filed under Triathlon

4 responses to “Time for a New Challenge

  1. The Year of the Tri sounds awesome! Good luck Lauren!

  2. YAY!!! This excites me greatly. :)

  3. Awesome meeting you – just remember, one day and one race at a time – and I am here if you need anything, hollar! With your good friends (Barb,etc ) you will do great!

    PS Never say NEVER! THAT is one thing I have learned quickly in the sport of Triathlon! LOL

  4. Wow – wish I could swim and give it a ‘tri’! sorry bad pun :)…just found your blog – congrats on the 5K…I’m trying to get back into but keep going backwards it seems :(…I look forward to reading more of your journey :). Check out my blog if you wish (not as interesting haha) or add me to your roll!

Leave a Reply

