New Year + New Goals = Awesome.

VH1’s Best Week Ever should probably just feature me indefinitely this year.  Or maybe next year they will feature my awesome year in their Best Year Ever episode.  (But maybe they can think like I do, in school years/running seasons, so October 2009 – October 2010 can be my best year ever.  That way it includes my little stint on Pace of Chicago.)

Taking up triathlon has me all energized and excited.  It’s the way I feel right before a new year at school.  It’s how I felt when I got my first pair of running shoes.  I get to feel that way over and over again now.  First athletic swim suit.  First pair of goggles.  First swim drills.  First full lap at the pool.  First triathlon class.  And that’s just in the past two weeks!  I have even more excitement, like bike pedals and shoes and bike shorts to look forward to!  Hooray!

Since the end of Christmas break, Jon and I have been hitting the pool for Total Immersion swim drills.  I’ve made it up to Drill 4 – Fish.  I’ve been sticking with my workout routine and really trying to push myself.  And yesterday, I succeeded!  5 x 400 on the treadmill with 30 second breaks in between.   What’s that?  You want my splits?  Well okay.  2:30; 2:25; 2:20; 2:15; 2:10.  Track workouts scare me because they make me realize that I might not be tapping into my full potential just yet.  I’m excited to see what this year brings!

Most exciting in 2010?  I have found a tri training group that makes the hour drive to and from Glenview worth it. Together We Tri is absolutely fantastic.  I started their off-season tri training group on Tuesday and had a killer workout.  I’ve really never done strength training before, so the circuit training we started off with nearly killed me.  But somehow, a few encouraging words from Libby Hurley, TWT’s founder and owner, and I was doing swim drills and laps totaling 300 yards on my first night!  I’m excited to train with such a fun group of people and great coaches.  I wanted to sign up for the next few sessions as soon as I walked in the front door.  I’m planning on joining their Trek Women’s Tri training group, too.

With all this excitement and enthusiasm, I figure it’s time to put my goals for the 2010 season on paper.  That way, when I’m losing steam, I can come back to this post and remember how energized I was.

1. Garbage in = Garbage out.  Don’t fill up with junk and expect a good workout.
2. Make the most of every workout.  Push when it’s time to push, take it easy when it’s time to rest.
3. Really push the running this year.  This is the year to beat the end of the race in the marathon.  Heck, this could be the year for the elusive 5:59:59.  Anything is possible.

Bring it on, 2010.  I can’t wait.

4 Comments

Filed under Bike, Swim, Training, Triathlon

4 responses to “New Year + New Goals = Awesome.

  1. Woo!! You’re going to have one hell of a year!!

  2. Woohoo!!! 2010 is going to be an awesome year for you!

  3. FUN Lauren! I knew you’d like that group! :) Libby and Mary are super. Keep up the good work!

  4. Pingback: Shhhh… it’s a secret. «

Leave a Reply

