Math.

Today I went out for a fabulous run with Dan (Cubicle Dad) and Katie. It was rainy, cool, and perfect running weather, as far as I’m concerned. I was a bit nervous, because report card week insanity didn’t lend itself to a lot of training this past week, although I did hike a bit in the hills yesterday. However, with Katie and Dan both heading out for their longest runs to date, I quickly went into mother hen mode and told them we’d all be fine and fabulous.

And we were.

In two hours, we ticked off 9.5 miles. Aiming for around 10, I was really pleased. I also impressed myself with how little walking I did. Formerly the 6:2 queen, I’m getting better at just talking walk breaks to eat my Sport Beans and guzzle some water.

In the car on the way home, I did some math. It went something like this. “That pace felt really comfortable for 9.5 miles. I still have a long way to go marathon training, so by October, hopefully that pace will feel comfortable for much longer. 9.5 x 2 = 19. So in four hours, that’s 19 miles.” At this point, a huge smile spread across my face. I happily announced to nobody in particular, “That gives me 2 hours to run 7 miles and be in under the elusive 6 hours!”

For one of the first times in my life, I can say: I love math.

Leave a comment

Filed under Run

Leave a Reply

