#reverb10: appreciation.

Reverb 10 has been going on throughout the month of December, without me.  As I read the posts on others’ blogs and meandered around the main site, I realized it was not too late to join.  So join I did, and I’ll spend the last few days of 2010 picking and choosing some of the prompts, in no particular order, to reflect on 2010 and what lies ahead in 2011.

December 14 – Appreciate. What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year?

It seems fitting that this topic was on December 14, my husband’s birthday.  Because in 2010, there is not one thing or person I appreciated more than him.  December 14 marked six years with Jon, and only this year did I start to realize how many wonderful things he does that I take for granted.  Here are just a few snippets of his wonderfulness in 2010.

The photo at right was taken after a sleepless night for Jon.  Somehow, the chain on my bike turned itself inside out.  Jon discovered this while trying to get my bike ready for the Chicago Triathlon, where I would be doing the bike leg of a relay.  While I slept, Jon fought my bike, did Google searches, fought my bike, did more Google searches, and eventually woke me after he had exhausted all other options.  Then, he stayed up with me as we exhausted all of the options for a second time.  at 3:00 am, he drove me to Chicago, where he carried my bike many blocks to the race site, waited in line with me to get it fixed, and then cheered and spectated with a smile on his face.  And this is just one example.  Jon is at every single race I do, unless he (or the race) is out of town.  When he was in China for my first triathlon, he left a card for me to read on race morning and roses appeared at my front door the day before the race.  He coordinated all of my friends and family members who came to cheer me on at the Chicago Marathon so I’d have spectators all along the route and everyone was sure to see me go by.  He is my number one fan.  The more time I spend around other endurance athletes, the more I realize that Jon is rare.  He’s not a runner, a cyclist, a swimmer, a triathlete, or an endurance athlete of any kind.  But he understands how important it is to me that he is there.  So he is there, without fail.

As we head into 2011, I am a happier person than I was heading into 2010.  While I know that this is because of a new-found sense of balance in my life, I owe some of that to Jon.  Without his reassurance, encouragement, and support, I probably would not have taken the leap of faith and left my teaching job.  Leaving that job has restored my sense of balance, my sanity, and given me back my health.  I will be forever grateful for the gentle nudges in the right direction.

In short, I am one lucky girl.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

