#reverb10: hope & letting go

Reverb 10 has been going on throughout the month of December, without me.  As I read the posts on others’ blogs and meandered around the main site, I realized it was not too late to join.  So join I did, and I’ll spend the last few days of 2010 picking and choosing some of the prompts, in no particular order, to reflect on 2010 and what lies ahead in 2011.

 December 1 – One Word. Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word.

Hope.

2010 was a year of risks, challenges, unknown obstacles, and holding on tight to enjoy the ride.  It was a year of giant leaps of faith, listening to the heart, and believing the impossible.  Amazingly, all the leaping and hoping and wishing and dreaming big seems to have paid off and leaves me waltzing into 2011 with a gigantic smile on my face.  Here’s hoping for more of the same.

December 5 – Let Go. What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?

His big, teary eyes looking up at me, he asked, “Mrs. Kaminsky, why don’t you want to be my teacher again?”  I had no answer.  There is no way to explain to an almost-fourth-grader that your job makes you stressed to the point of physical illness.  That it’s time to try something new.  That you agonized over it for months and months, but maybe your childhood dream career really isn’t for you.  That you are a perfectionist teacher, and being such a teacher leaves no room in your life for the other things that you love.

So I didn’t explain.  I just hugged him and offered the best words of comfort I could find.  And on the last day of school, I let go of teaching… at least in the classroom sense.  In many ways, I am still a teacher, but in 2010, I left the classroom behind.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

