30 before 30: Book Club

19. Join a book club

A few weeks ago, I shared my 30 before 30, a list of 30 goals I want to accomplish before I turn 30.  It’s funny how writing things down is such a catalyst for progress.  I’m halfway done with #16, began work towards #1 on Monday, and talked to my brother about him helping me accomplish #12.  A close friend is on deck to help with #30, and Jon and I made progress toward #15 over the holidays.  Whew.

And thanks to the Chicago Feminist Book Club (#chifems), I can cross #19, Join a book club, off the list.  We read Jenn Pozner’s Reality Bites Back: The Troubling Truth About Guilty Pleasure TV(Okay, I’ll be honest.  I haven’t quite finished reading it yet.)  I’ll be the first to admit I watch way too much reality television.  The pixie cut I got in August was a result of one too many America’s Next Top Model marathons over the summer.  Still, I think I’m pretty savvy when it comes to all the editing that happens behind the scenes.  At least I thought I was until I started reading this book.  My jaw continually drops as I learn more and more about the inner-workings of reality televsion.  While I don’t agree with everything Jenn Pozner lays out in the book, it’s a good read.  Most importantly, I found a book club I love!  One down, 29 to go…

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 before 30, Life

Leave a Reply

