Spring = Fear + Celebration

  This post is part of a series sponsored by Shutterfly. 

 

Flowers are blooming, runners are taking to the streets, our fridge is starting to collect save the date cards and I have the insane urge to clean my house and organize every last crevice.  It can only mean one thing: spring is here!

To runners, spring means just one thing: running is simple again.  No more worrying about icy conditions, piling on layers of clothing, or even worse, heading to the gym and running on the treadmill.  Just throw on shorts and a t-shirt, lace up the shoes and hit the road.

This year, I’ve also been waxing nostalgic and looking back.  I started seriously running and training for the Chicago Marathon in the spring of 2007.  Since then, I’ve conquered marathons, half marathons, 10ks, 5ks, and even my first triathlon.  This spring means even more intense training as I get ready for Steelhead 70.3. 

More than ever, I’m terrified.  Warm days mean that August is approaching quickly.  (The countdown on my Google homepage says 122 days, which sounds like a lot until you realize it’s only 4 months!) 

I am trying to remind myself that my first marathon was this scary, and just as mentally exhausting.  Just like I have to coax myself onto my bike, the last miles of every long run used to be filled with I-hate-this-I-hate-this-I-hate-this.  Internal pep talks of, Hey! It’s 7:00 in the morning and lots of people aren’t even up yet! or That was just the nine mile marker. One used to make me cry. got me through the toughest runs.

Call me cheesy, but I think I’m going to make photo book for inspiration.  I’ll fill the pages with pictures of all of the races I’ve done, especially the ones I thought would be impossible.  On days when I am feeling particularly incapable of completing my race, I’ll flip through the pages and remember how many times I’ve thought that before… and been wrong.  I’ll celebrate me.

Want to make a photo book of your own?  Comment below and tell me what you’re celebrating this spring,  and you’ll be entered for a chance to win an 8″x8″ hardcover photo book from Shutterfly!  Want extra entries?  Tweet this story (be sure to link back to @outgirlbox and link the post) or share it on Facebook, and tell me in a comment that you did.  Winner will be selected at random on Monday, April 18!

Are you a blogger, too? Click here to register for a chance at 50 free announcements!

This post is part of a series sponsored by Shutterfly. I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity, as I do.

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Run, Training

One response to “Spring = Fear + Celebration

  1. Like you, I am looking forward to spring running!

    And the fact that spring is one step closer to summer aka POOL TIME!

Leave a Reply

