Notes in My Lunchbox

Mom and me in 1993, long before Kate Middleton had us all swooning over hats

A stay-at-home-mom, or “domestic goddess” if you will, my mom had a knack for details.  (Well, she still has that knack, she’s just no longer a stay-at-home-mom.)  Tiny little things that could either go unnoticed or make your day — those are my mom’s specialty.

Peanut butter toast was one of my favorite breakfasts before school.  Naturally, after she spread the peanut butter, my mom added a special touch.  An “L” one day, a small heart the next.  Just a little something to let me know that this toast was made just for me by someone who loved me.

At lunchtime, I’d open my lunchbox to find a note written on my napkin.  Hi Lauren!  I hope you are having a good day at school!  Can’t wait to see you when you get home.  Love, Mom

She brought fun snacks for fieldtrips (not to mentioned chaperoned them all), had popsicles in the summertime and hot cocoa in the winter.  Sometimes, after a particularly rough day, I’d come home to find a small treat.  Nothing big, just a little something to say, “I’m thinking about you.”

It is from these tiny gestures that, over time, I learned their power.  You never know when a seemingly insignificant act can turn a day around.

Want to say thanks to Mom, or another special woman in your life, this Mother’s Day?  Check out the Heart of Haiti collection.  You can even use the code CLEVERGIRLS for a 15% discount from May 3 – 8!

I was selected for this very special “CleverHaiti” opportunity by Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity. All opinions are my own.

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Notes in My Lunchbox

  1. “You never know when a seemingly insignificant act can turn a day around.” There’ve been so many days where a well timed smile has made the difference between my crying in a dark room and laughing at all there is left to do.

Leave a Reply

