Outstanding.

I can’t say that word without hearing Sue Sylvester in my head anymore.  Does anyone else have that problem?

This weekend my family and I headed to Springfield for the Ten Outstanding Young People dinner.  The event was hosted by the Illinois JCI Senate on behalf of the Illinois Jaycees (Junior Chamber of Commerce). 

I wasn’t sure what to expect and was pretty nervous about giving my speech.  (Mostly because it was supposed to be 1 – 3 minutes, and I couldn’t get it any less than 4.)  Not to mention we only had an hour and a half to get ready, and I am not a wizard when it comes to hair and makeup.

Luckily, my new sister-in-law is a hair and makeup wizard.  She managed to make me look like a rockstar for the event.

Me & Goose

The whole event was surreal.  There was a cocktail reception where we were given a medal, and then we had a seated dinner.  During dinner, all of the faces of the TOYP Honorees were rotating on the screen.  If you watched at just the right time, you could see my face turn into Evan Lysacek’s.

After dinner, they recognized each of the award recipients.  First, they played a short video that had pictures of the honoree with a truly awesome documentary-style voiceover talking about their work.  Then, the honoree was presented with a plaque and gave a short speech.

Though I was completely nervous, the speech went really well.  (I’ll post the full text of my speech tomorrow, along with some of the pictures that were in the slideshow.)  However, my brand-new oh-so-adorable shoe broke on the way up to receive my award. (Please note the ankle strap on my ankle and the shoe in my hand.)

After the award ceremony, we went down to Bennigan’s at the hotel and stuffed our faces with dessert and appetizers while I took ridiculous pictures.

Thanks to the Illinois Jaycees, Illinois JCI Senate, and Jaycee Charitable Foundation for this amazing honor, and the Crystal Lake Jaycees for nominating me.  (Especially B for writing such a fabulous nomination letter!)

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “Outstanding.

  1. I’m one of the East Moline/ Silvis Jaycees, and on behalf of my chapter I would like to congratulate you! You truly deserved the award, and your speech was amazing! Congrats once again.
    -East Moline/Silvis Jaycees

  2. Pingback: Ask What Makes You Come Alive, and Go Do It. |

Leave a Reply

