Forward is a Pace: Why I Love Triathlon

After my nightmarish experience at the Galena Triathlon, you might think I’m crazy for contuining to train towards Steelhead 70.3.  Sometimes I question it all, too.  When I’m planning my weekends around 4-hour workouts and falling asleep while writing a blog post at 8:00 pm, I wonder if it’s all worth it.

It is.

Here’s why.

Forward is a pace.  It’s easy to lose sight of that, but it’s true.  At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter if I set a personal record or run a 45-minute 5k.  The ability to be this active, to learn from my mistakes, to push my limits and take on big challenges is a gift.  It’s a hobby.  I am not Kara Goucher, Deena Kastor, or Chrissie Wellington.  I’m just a girl who really likes the way I feel after a challenging run or a good swim, and most especially loves the satisfaction of crossing that finish line.

one of these things is not like the others...

3 Comments

Filed under Triathlon

3 responses to “Forward is a Pace: Why I Love Triathlon

  1. Lauren

    Um, this post was like 90 times longer and it looks like it all disappeared except the top. Guess WordPress didn’t like the rest. :) Ah well.

  2. You are correct Forward is a pace and thank you for reminding me.

  3. And me. I love the way you put that ‘Forward is a pace” Sometimes I feel stagnant but everyday I am moving forward and that is a fine pace. Off topic a bit, not applied to running rather to my recovery but still inspiring.
    Thank you
    Best,
    -S.

Leave a Reply

