My Father’s Daughter

I had this whole majestic post about my dad started, but it was a little over the top, even for me.  Then, I read Caitlin’s post over at Healthy Tipping Point, and loved the idea of a simple list of things I get from my dad.  Because, boy, am I like my dad.  Sometimes I think I am becoming more like him each and every day.

Here are some of the things I get from my dad:

  • My passion.  My dad is driven and passionate about the things he loves, and I have certainly taken after him in the way that I chase after things with gusto.
  • Love of learning.  My dad is curious and interested in learning about things.  When he takes on a new hobby, he devours all the information he can find about it.  I can constantly be found targeting a new topic and learning everything I can about it.
  • My short, stubby eyelashes.
  • My addiction to racing, especially running.  I will never forget how amazing it was to watch my dad cross the finish line at his marathons.  My love of running certainly came from him, and now I enjoy the time we can spend cycling together.
  • My fierce stubborn streak.
  • My love of aviation and Amelia Earhart.
  • My habit of randomly splurging on others… and myself!
  • My love of socializing and entertaining.

Photo credit: Becky Hill Photography

My mom frequently will stop mid-conversation, look at me, shake her head, and say, “You are your father’s daughter.”

And that’s just fine with me.

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “My Father’s Daughter

  1. i love this post :) i hope our children have my husband’s eyelashes – they are long and gorgeous!

    • Lauren

      Thanks, Caitlin! Funny you should mention that. My hubby has long eyelashes, too, that curl naturally. I am ever jealous of them and hope he passes them on to our children, too!

Leave a Reply

