Link Love: Ulcerative Colitis

Tina, who blogs at Carrots ‘N’ Cake, was recently diagnosed with colitis.  The time just before and after the diagnosis is especially difficult.  There’s the uncertainty of trying to figure out what is causing all the unpleasant symptoms, and then, after the diagnosis, the guessing game of which foods are going to make you feel worse or better.

When I was undergoing tests and in my first few weeks of my ulcerative colitis diagnosis, I didn’t want to talk to anyone about it.  I talked to Goose (my brand-new boyfriend at the time), let my professors know (by e-mail, to save on the embarrassment factor), and talked with my parents.  But even with people who knew, my descriptions were brief and vague.  It was uncomfortable and I was still processing everything.

Tina is not one for graphic details, but she is sharing about the early stages of her colitis diagnosis on her blog.  She is brave.  Much braver than I was.  And she’s giving voice to all of the feelings that I was too nervous to talk about.  Reading her blog gives me comfort, and reminds me just how far I have come.  I love the way she writes about it, because she is honest without being overly graphic.

There really aren’t very many blogs about people dealing with ulcerative colitis or Crohn’s disease, but I have found a few worth reading.  (There’s another that I would read, but his blog header is a picture of his inflamed colon.  I just can’t stomach looking at it all the time!)

  • Against All Grain is the blog home of a woman with ulcerative colitis who follows the Simple Carbohydrate Diet.  It’s a very restrictive way to eat, but many people who have colitis or Crohn’s have found relief by eating this way.
  • My Life’s Journey is a blog by a woman named Cynthia who suffers from both Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis.  Her posts are infrequent, but honest and full of good information.
  • Number Twos is no longer updated, but there, Martin shared his journey from diagnosis to colostomy.  He is very honest and comfortable being pretty graphic.
  • UC and Crohn’s: A Site for Teens is a place for teens with either illness to share and get support.
  • The Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America is a great site for resources and information, as well as recent research and press.
  • Team Challenge is a group that raises funds and awareness for Crohn’s and colitis while training its members for half marathon, triathlon, and cycling events.  I have seen them out and about at races and chatted with their volunteers, but am still on the fence about joining them for a race someday.  Something about it seems self-serving.  (I am not sure why, because the funds they raise would help others with issues like me.  But it is hard for me to lump myself in with a group that needs charity, perhaps.)  To those of you who have run for Team Challenge, thank you from the bottom of my heart.
If you find any other great resources, be sure to pass them along!
2 Comments

Filed under Life, Living with Ulcerative Colitis

2 responses to “Link Love: Ulcerative Colitis

  1. I have been following you for months now and didn’t know you had Ulcerative Colitis – I do as well. It seems to be becoming much more common. Thank you for this post – it’s nice to read other people’s experiences.
    Anyway, I’ve had it for 12 years and I am just learning how to be more open about it. I joined Team Challenge and ran my first half marathon in 2008, and it was such a fantastic experience that I’ve stayed involved with CCFA on the side and kept running (ran the Chicago Marathon last fall). I’d say Team Challenge is definitely worth trying once :)

Leave a Reply

