Epic Nap

Last night, I had every intention of going to the Lake in the Hills Splash & Dash.  Splash & Dash is a huge perk to living where I do.  I can swim on a guarded half mile course (as many times as I want — so I can swim half a mile or more), then run a 5k if I so choose, for just $5 every Wednesday night of the summer.  It’s relaxed and casual, and everyone goes at their own pace.  Attending these swims regularly has drastically improved my confidence in the open water.

Instead, a laid down to rest a little with every intention of getting up and making it there on time… and woke up to my husband getting home at 10:00 pm.  I promptly rolled over, fell back asleep, and didn’t wake up until my alarm went off this morning, a whopping 12 hours later.

Well, okay then.  I guess I needed some rest.

I will admit that I was pretty disappointed when I woke up at 10:00 and realized I wasn’t going to get in my workout.  Training for a big race can be all-consuming, and every workout counts, especially during certain training blocks.  I’m in one of those blocks right now!  But after a little thought, I simply sent a message to Coach and asked her how to accommodate the missed workout.  It’s already in the books.  I trust her plan, and I trust that my body really needed the rest if I was able to sleep for twelve consecutive hours.

What do you do when things don’t go according to plan?

3 Comments

Filed under Life, Training

3 responses to “Epic Nap

  1. Hi Lauren,
    So glad I stumbled upon your blog…its so inspiring! I’m in the midst of training for my very first marathon (Chicago,baby!) and although I’ve run a lot of half marathons, its a big step for me mentally speaking. I seem to have this road block when it comes to anything over 20 miles, so the last 6 will be tough. As for the temporary lapse in training, I totally know what you mean! I used to beat myself up over it, and sometimes still do but I’ve learned to listen to my body and what it needs, which has helped my training SO much.
    I’ll definitely be coming back to read future posts of yours. Cheers :)

    • Lauren

      Glad you found me! I love, love, love the Chicago Marathon. Good luck with your training. I’ll be there cheering on race day!

  2. Pingback: That Saturday Where I Slept All Day | Forward is a Pace

Leave a Reply

