The One Minute Rule

I walk in the door and toss my shoes at the door, coat over the railing, purse on an end table.  After showering, I might put the towel on the floor or the bathroom counter.  I take out a new roll of toilet paper and leave it on the bathroom counter.  Dirty dishes might make it to the sink, but not the dishwasher.  After cutting up some fruit, I leave the cutting board on the counter.

Besides complete and utter laziness, what do these things have in common?

They all could have been done properly in less than a minute.

In a recent discussion about my quest to become organized, a friend introduced me to the One Minute Rule.  It’s simple, if something can be done in one minute or less, you have to do it right away.  It takes just as much time to put the towel on the bar as it does to throw it on the floor.  Building these habits means, over time, those big piles don’t accumulate.

I know.  It’s not earth-shattering or anything.  This is a very simple revelation.  Yes, I am 26 years old and just figuring this out.

But let me tell you something.  It is amazing.  It works.  I actually find myself thinking, “Lauren, it’d take less than a minute to just put that away.”  Then, I actually do it.  (Did you hear that, Mom?)

It is not a perfect system.  Some things take more than a minute.  I still put things off.  Some of my bags of triathlon gear from last weekend’s triathlon may or may not be still lying on the floor in my entryway.  I’m a work in progress, okay?

I’m getting there.  One new habit at a time.

What little habits help you accomplish big goals?  Have any tidying secrets to share with me?

3 Comments

Filed under Let's Get Organized

3 responses to “The One Minute Rule

  1. I can TOTALLY relate to this. I have never heard of the one minute rule…I guess now I have no more excuses for leaving stuff EVERY WHERE! haha. I hope I can apply this because it would be so much nicer and plus I would have more time to do fun things on Saturday when I normally have to clean all the stuff I left out on week …haha! Thanks for the tip :)

    I think having a plan helps me accomplish big goals. I know when I do not have a plan I am more likely to avoid it all together…so whether the plan be a list, an outline, etc…I know I need one.

  2. Pingback: Clean My House in 20 Minutes a Day? Yes, Please! | Forward is a Pace

Leave a Reply

