Listen.

Did you notice I haven’t really been posting about triathlon training this week?

Yeah.  That’s because I haven’t really been training.  I had a little visit with an elliptical on Tuesday, but that hardly compares to my weeks and weeks of  around twelve (or more!) hours of training.

This week, it’s been more important for me to listen to my body.  It’s tired.  No, it’s exhausted.  And my colon is mad.

With Steelhead coming up, (one month from today, people!) it has been really tempting to do all of my workouts anyway.  Somehow, I have resisted the urge, and chosen instead, to listen to this little body of mine.  It’s yelling a resounding, “No!”

click for source

Endurance athletes get really used to pushing through the pain.  Mantras and sayings abound for this kind of behavior.  Pain is temporary; pride is forever.  No pain, no gain. Pain is just weakness leaving the body.

The problem with all that pushing and pride and gaining and getting tough?  It’s ignoring the fact that pain is your body’s way of telling you something is wrong.  Sometimes it’s hard to listen when I’m all wrapped up in a goal, but all that does is make it worse.

So this week, I gave in.  I listened.

Do you listen to your gut — the little voice inside your head?  Or do you push through?

2 Comments

Filed under Living with Ulcerative Colitis, Training

2 responses to “Listen.

  1. I really try to listen to my body. I have aches and pains here and there and push through every once in a while but even when I have those I take a rest day…or even a rest week, just to get feeling completely better again.

    Good for you listening to your body! I think that’s the best thing. I think that if you take a good break ever once in a while, you body will love you for it!!

  2. You’re doing the right thing listening. People with IBD have different bodies, it’s not like a little extra fatigue or tired legs or anything we’re supposed to “fight through”. You have a chronic disease; if you need time off, you need to take it! Your body is trying to fight a disease, if it needs extra time to rest its to help it heal.

Leave a Reply

