Feels Like Home

The college I attended was smaller than my high school.

Clarke College (now Clarke University… how fancy) is a small liberal arts college in Dubuque, Iowa.  I think when I went there they said we had about 1100 students, and I’m nearly positive that included non-traditional “timesaver” nighttime students as well.  It’s the kind of place where you notice when someone has a friend from home visiting, only because their friend doesn’t look familiar, and everyone else on campus does.

All of the colleges I looked at seriously were tiny, Christian, liberal arts schools.  I visited some bigger state schools, but I felt lost and overwhelmed.  The first time I visited Clarke, I felt at home.

It’s sort of funny to compare my college experience with friends who went to bigger schools.  They look at me like I have three heads when I say things like, “…and CBH, the building where all the classes were…”  Yes.  There was one building on campus that housed all the academics.  Three dorms and a small building of on-campus student apartments. A theater. The Student Activities Center.  And that’s pretty much it.

Almost all of the buildings on one side of the street were connected, so if you lived in Mary Ben or Mary Jo, you could actually walk to class without going outside.  (This lovely little perk came from the days when cloistered nuns lived at Clarke!)

Don’t let the campus map fool you.  It actually looks smaller in real life.

(Side note: my mom called after I posted this.  She agrees that they somehow managed to make Clarke look much larger than it actually is.  I have no idea what is up with this map. I think they made up some buildings or something. The entire campus is on one street, Clarke Drive.  I’m pretty sure the entire campus is less than a mile long.)

Oh how I love that school.

Tomorrow, I’m going to a Clarke alumni event in Chicago.  I am a little bit too excited about it.

Anyone else with some serious school spirit?  What did/do you love about your school?

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Feels Like Home

  1. I think we only had about 3000 undergrads when I was at the University of Chicago – I had a fairly good idea of who everyone in my class was – but the graduate schools made the student population much larger. Definitely a different experience going somewhere “small” like that versus the big state schools my husband/friends went to!

Leave a Reply

