My First (But Not Last) Thankful Things Thursday

Every Thursday, Ali over at Ali on the Run posts Thankful Things Thursday.  Because I like this tradition so much, you’re probably sick of hearing about my colon, and, well, there’s less to write about when I’m not training for anything… I give you my very first Thankful Things Thursday.

I am hoping this little tradition will help me focus on all of the good things in my life.  I’m a pretty lucky girl, and I think I do a relatively good job of remembering that, but I am certain that this will make me realize it even more!

I’m thankful for my job.  I’ve been thinking a lot this week about how fun my job really is.  Leaving teaching was a huge leap, and every single day I’m grateful that I made that decision.  My life is so much happier and less stressful now!  I look forward to going to work every single day.  With a 5:00 am wake up call, that’s really saying something.

I’m thankful that Goose and I live so close to our parents.  My parents and inlaws are the best ever.  I love that we can show up just to visit whenever.  Last week, my dad and Goose replaced our shower door and did some other much-needed handiwork.  It was wonderful to have his help!

Parents. We all dress like this all the time. (Photo courtesy Becky Hill Photography)

I’m thankful that I’m not broken after yesterday’s less-than-stellar yoga experience. I actually feel more stretched out and a little less sore today.  Imagine that.

I’m thankful for my girlfriends, who are making August 12 – 14 “Lauren Weekend,” at my house.  August 14 is Steelhead 70.3, and they were all going to make the trip to watch me race.  As one of them put it, “Just because you’re not racing doesn’t mean we can’t celebrate you!”  I am beyond thrilled that they’ve decided to come (which is even farther for some of them) so we can still all spend time together.  I love them to bits.  (And I can’t wait to go see the Glee movie with them!)

These ladies are super rad.

I’m thankful for all the blogs I’ve found lately that are written by people with Ulcerative Colitis and Crohn’s. My life would have been entirely different at the time of my diagnosis if I’d had these blogs to read.  They make me feel like I’m not alone and I’m not crazy.  I feel a sense of community with these people, even though I’ve never met them.  It’s all kinds of awesome.

I’m thankful that Hanson is playing not one, but two concerts here in September and I am going to both.  I haven’t bought tickets yet, but rest assured that I will be there.

Yes, I joined Hanson's Fan Club and won a Meet & Greet. I'm not ashamed.

I’m thankful for swimming.  I just taught myself to really swim last winter, and it is proving to be the best recovery workout ever.  I am so glad I can still workout without putting too much stress on my body.

I’m thankful for a sneak peak of the Hunger Games actors.  Yum.

In keeping with Ali’s tradition, tell me.  What are you thankful for today?

5 Comments

Filed under Thankful Things Thursday

5 responses to “My First (But Not Last) Thankful Things Thursday

  1. And I am thankful that you shared that sneak peak of the Hunger Games actors!!
    So excited for this movie:-)

  2. Your friends sound awesome! And I really don’t like the Peeta casting. I pictured him totally different. That being said, I think Woody Harrelson as Haymitch is brilliant. And now that HP is done, I can’t WAIT!

  3. such a great post idea!! i love that you are going to those concerts and think that it is so awesome that your friends are declaring “Lauren weekend” for your 70.3!!!! Today I am thankful for nights at home relaxing with my sweet pup, sunshine days, and to be able to look forward to going home for an ENTIRE month to visit my fam :) have a wonderful night!

Leave a Reply

