A Weekend in Chicago: Learning and Eating

Goose and I had so much fun being tour guides in the city and suburbs this weekend.  Our guests had two main requests this weekend: Chicago hot dogs and Chicago style pizza.  We helped them accomplish both on their first day here.


In between meals, Emmy and I went shopping and left the boys at home.  We came back to find them playing video games.  Of course.

Today, we headed to the Museum of Science & Industry, which is one of my absolute favorite places in Chicago.  The interactive exhibits make learning fun!  (Can you tell I was a teacher?)  And there are so many things to see and do that you can visit over and over again and never get bored.

Goose discovers air pressure.

Goose and I never take nice pictures.  We always make ridiculous faces.  I tried to remedy this by asking him to take a nice picture with me while we waited for the Tesla Coil demonstration.  This is what I got.

Blue Steel.

Can’t say I didn’t try.  Still, the Tesla Coil was worth waiting for!

After the Museum, we took a bus over to Buckingham Fountain, walked past the lions at the Art Institute, and of course took photos in the infamous “Bean.”  It was a fun-filled, touristy day.

image

More silly faces.

image

Success! A nice picture. In the Bean, but it'll do.

Keeping up with our theme of eating our way through Chicago, we made sure to stop at Garrett’s so they could try the most delicious popcorn that has ever existed.

image

It was wonderful to see our friends and spend the weekend seeing some of our favorite things in Chicago.  I am exhausted and stuffed beyond belief.  I may have over-indulged a bit this weekend, despite my best intentions.  My tummy is a little bit mad.  Time to eat safe for a little while.  But it was a fabulous weekend.

(For the record, I can’t make my UC worse by eating this junk. It just makes me feel a little worse.)

What was the highlight of your weekend?

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “A Weekend in Chicago: Learning and Eating

  1. I love chicago museums too :) must be a teacher thing…

  2. That place sounds like the Franklin Institute.

Leave a Reply

