The 90s Make Me Smile

I drove Goose’s car yesterday.  I love my little car, but driving his car offers a special little perk: XM Radio’s 90s on 9.

There are few things better in life than 90s pop music.

On my way home from work, the greatest song ever created in the 90s came on my radio.  Yes, that’s right, “MMMBop” by Hanson.

Score.  Instantly, I was smiling from ear to ear.  Positive memories flooded me. My bedroom when I was 12 years old, covered from wall to wall in Hanson posters.  The bridal party making their entrance to our wedding reception. (You better believe I talked Goose into having them walk in to “MMMBop.”) Seeing Hanson live with good friends.  Their first album, Middle of Nowhere, always makes me happy.

As I was reminiscing and grinning, I got to thinking about all of the songs that instantly bring back memories.

“The Way You Look Tonight” makes me think of my Dad.  We danced to that song on my wedding day.  To take the sentimental value one step further, that was my very first dance on my wedding night!  Goose and I surprised our parents by dancing with our first loves (our parents) before each other.  At the end of Goose’s “thank you” speech, I took the mic, explained why we wanted to dance with our parents first, and said, “So, Dad, can I have this dance?”  He was completely surprised.  Walking out to the dance floor he said, “You got me.”  I had thought about how special that moment would be for months, and it went just like we planned.

All Matt Nathanson songs remind me of my husband.  Goose introduced me to Matt Nathanson, and “Suspended” is our song.  (It was also our first dance as husband and wife!)

“Summer Nights” from Grease reminds me of my best friend.  I sprinted around the dance floor to find her when the song came on at my brother’s wedding in April.  It’s our thing.  I sing John Travolta’s part, she does a rockin’ Olivia Newton-John.  We’ve done this as long as I can remember.

click for source

Sugar Ray’s “Fly” reminds me of a visit from my friend Kim in junior high.  I am not sure why we were so obsessed with the song, but we sang it everywhere we went.

“How Sweet It Is” brings me back to a retreat I co-led at Clarke.  My friend Ashley and I led the Antioch Retreat our senior year and chose the Michael Buble version of this song as our theme.  It always makes me smile when I hear it.

I could go on, but I’m certain my little trip down memory lane isn’t nearly as amusing for everyone else as it is for me.

Walk down memory lane. What songs always remind you of a particular time, place, or event? Why?  Fill me in!

6 Comments

Filed under Life

6 responses to “The 90s Make Me Smile

  1. Sadly I never got into hanson, but I had a similar love for all things BSB. Songs mean soooo much to me and so many have happy memories; this is such a great idea (and there’s so many great songs : ) I may have to just wait and do my own post!

  2. Danielle

    Any song from “Now and Then” always reminds me of you!

  3. haha! LOVE all those songs and I love the memories that you have attached. The first thing that came to my mind was Ace of Base…I used to stand on coffee tables when I was little and invite my friends over…we would have a little mini concert and literally sing every song over and over and over again! haha!

Leave a Reply

