Thankful Things Thursday: Vacation!

Yesterday was my “Friday” at work.  Meaning today is the first day of a 10 day vacation for me. (I’m staying home, but still.) Clearly, there is a lot for me to be thankful for this Thursday, so we might as well get started.

(In case you forgot, Thankful Things Thursday is my new tradition that I borrowed stole from Ali at Ali on the Run.)

I’m thankful for bonfires. The weather is finally cooling down in Illinois (and all over the continental US), or so it seems.  It has been too hot and humid to have bonfires the last few weeks, and I’m excited to start those suckers up again.  Mostly I’m excited for the s’mores that come with the bonfires.  And the friends.

I’m thankful for staying up late and sleeping in.  I plan to do both of these things constantly during my time off.  There is nothing better than waking up and realizing you only have to get out of bed if you want to, or staying up to watch just one more episode of Dawson’s Creek. (I plan to watch a bunch of Dawson’s Creek during my time off, too. You know you wish you could join me.)

I’m thankful for the yumz that just opened near my house. You know, because the ten minute drive to their other location was just too much to handle.  I will probably begin to consume way too much frozen yogurt.  That’s okay with me.

Tasty.

I’m thankful for my membership the Museum of Science & Industry.  Oh, the fun we had there last weekend.  I love that place.  Yeah, I’m a nerd.  I don’t care.

I am a scientist too!

I’m thankful for my husband’s love of 90s pop music.  It would be sad to belt out all those songs alone.

I’m thankful for my favorite meal, my mom’s pepper steak.  Hey Mom, I haven’t had that in a long time.  Just saying.

I’m thankful for this blog post that reminded me to “wake up full of awesome.”  I plan on waking up like that every single day from now on.  Pink sunglasses and all.

I’m thankful for the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America’s Illinois Chapter.  They are letting me take on some social media projects as a Team Challenge volunteer and I couldn’t be more excited about it!

I’m thankful that my high school friends didn’t judge me for my ridiculous bangs.  I understand if they talked about them behind my back.  Honestly, I’m grateful they were seen in public with me.

This is my bangs on a good day. I refuse to post a bad day.

I’m thankful for my mom, who stayed home with my brother and me.  If I am half the mom that she is, any children I have will be ridiculously lucky.  She is nice.

Momma and me, circa 1987. We are awesome.

I’m thankful for peanut butter.  It’s delicious.  I’m also thankful that my husband buys it in really gigantic jars from Costco.

I’m thankful for the wall of bookshelves in my office at home.  Although it’s still not quite the library from Beauty & the Beast, it’s still super rad.  Being surrounded by books makes me happy.

Okay, ready, set, go… tell me what you’re thankful for today!

1 Comment

Filed under Thankful Things Thursday

One response to “Thankful Things Thursday: Vacation!

  1. Pingback: Lazy Sunday… and Monday | Forward is a Pace

Leave a Reply

