Thankful Things Thursday: Rested

I am really starting to love my Thursday blog posts.  Every Thursday, I’m a little happier that I swiped this idea from Ali at Ali on the Run.  (But hey, at least I give her credit every week, right?)

So let’s go.

I’m thankful for CCFA, Casey Abrams, Janssen Biotech, and everyone involved with the new IBD Icons campaign.  Let’s face it.  Crohn’s Disease and Ulcerative Colitis are not the cutest diseases to talk about.  Okay, no disease is cute to talk about.  But taking on a campaign to discuss a disease that has its main symptoms revolving around poop?  It took me 6 years before I was openly talking about my UC with my family and friends. Casey has been thrust into it because he happened to have a flare up while on American Idol.

I’m so glad that he joined the campaign to make something good from this, and I’m glad they’re spreading the word about Crohn’s & Colitis.  These diseases are so much more than their symptoms make them seem.  I’m happy for the public awareness and education. (And okay, the events I attended over the weekend were fun, too.)

I’m thankful for a week off from work with nowhere to go.  It sounds silly, but I am so glad we didn’t plan a last-minute trip or anything when I found out I had the week off.  I have been laying around, getting laundry done (well, a little), working out when I feel like it, watching FRIENDS on DVD, and spending too much time reading blogs and browsing the web.  And I love it.  I am the queen of over-scheduling myself, and it’s rare that we even have a weekend free.  All of this time to unwind has been incredible for me.  It’s also got me feeling much, much better.  Dare I say I’m feeling 90% back to normal?  (Yay!)

I’m thankful for working out when I feel like it. I love, love, love training for races.  So much so that I’m almost always training for one.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m already plotting my next move (assuming I’m feeling back to normal by the end of August), but I am really enjoying doing what I want, when I want.  Sure, I want to make sure I’m staying active and getting in 4 – 5 workouts each week.  But I don’t care if they are all cardio or all at the pool or all yoga or all whatever.  I am just having fun.  I don’t think I’ve ever done this in my running life.  I think I could get used to it.

I’m thankful for FRIENDS.  No, not my actual friends (though I’m thankful for them, too) but the DVD collection that Goose brought into our lives when we got married.  I may be a little addicted to season 5 right now.  Just saying.  (I love Chandler and Monica. Sigh.)

Swoon.

 

I’m thankful for Hallmark.  Yes, I’m 26 and I have a Gold Crown Rewards Card.  I love cards.  I love real mail — sending and receiving.  (In fact, if you want to get real mail, e-mail me your address and I’ll send you some love.)  I just bought some cards that made me really excited to give/send them.  I can spend hours in any card store, but Hallmark takes the cake.

I’m thankful for naps.  Have I mentioned I’ve been really enjoying my lazy time this week?

I’m thankful for my family.  Both the family I was born into and Goose’s family. They’re  both mine now, and I am the luckiest girl ever.  I’m going to see The Help with my mom and Goose’s mom tonight.  Hooray for girl bonding and double hooray for the fact that our families like each other so much.

And now, back to my day of food, laying around, and watching lots and lots of FRIENDS until it’s movie time tonight.  (Don’t worry.  This week is coming to an end soon, and then I’ll be an actual productive adult again, and you won’t have to hear about my hours and hours of being a lazy human being.)

What are you thankful for today?

2 Comments

Filed under Thankful Things Thursday

2 responses to “Thankful Things Thursday: Rested

  1. I LOVE Friends too! Reading this makes me want to go watch a few episodes. I love getting letters and cards in the mail as well. But you know who loves getting cards even more than I do? Brennen he even likes the junk mail. Lol Too many people send ecards and they are just not the same!

Leave a Reply

