Thankful Things Thursday: On Comebacks & Goose’s Half Marathon

Hooray!  It’s Thursday.  I look forward to this day every week now, because it reminds me of how good life really is.  Oh yeah, it’s Thankful Things Thursday time.  I have so many things to be thankful for this week that I’m not even sure where to begin.  So let’s get a move on.

And yes, I blatantly stole this tradition from Ali at Ali on the Run.  Because it’s such a happy tradition, I know she doesn’t mind.

I’m thankful that Goose and I are running a half marathon together this December.  We’ve been talking about this idea for a while now, but last night we finally made it official.  Goose is running his very first half marathon on December 4, 2011.  We’re both taking on the Rock & Roll Las Vegas Half Marathon as part of Team Challenge to raise awareness and funds for the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America.  (Why, yes, that is a link to our fundraising page.)  I am bursting at the seams with excitement about this.  It’s my comeback race.  A sizable goal, but one I feel is entirely doable with my current health situation.  We get to raise money for a cause that is very close to my heart, join an amazing team of runners who support that cause, and I get to do it all with the love of my life by my side.

Our little 15 minute run on Sunday? That was a "let's see if we could be running buddies" run.

Goose has always, always held firm that he is not a runner.  I truly believed that there were just some hobbies that we’d never share, and that running was one of them.  He’s proving me wrong in a big way.  (Does this mean I have to play soccer now?)  I am so touched that he’s showing his support for me in this way.  (Feel like donating?  Head here.)

On that note, I’m thankful for Team Challenge.  We attended an information meeting last night and it was incredible.  Everyone was positive, enthusiastic, and supportive.  There were so many smiles in that room, it was out of control.  Coach Brad talked about how they plan the training locations around bathrooms for their participants with Crohn’s and UC.  It’s the little things.

And the free t-shirts.

So pretty.

I’m thankful for water.  No, seriously.  I’ve been drinking H2O like crazy this week, and I can’t believe how amazing it’s making me feel.  No headaches.  No eating random things just because they’re around.  How did I not know water did all these things?  Clearly, I’ve been living in a box or something.

I’m thankful that Ali is ordering more of the infamous I [heart] Sweat tees. I think Goose and I each need one for our new half marathon training adventure, don’t you?

I’m thankful for the music at Tuesday’s Barbell Strength class.  Techno-ish versions of Enrique Iglesias’s “Hero” and “Not a Girl, Not Yet a Woman” by Britney Spears?  Yes, please.  It kept me smiling when my muscles were crying.

I’m thankful for the College and Teen editions of Jeopardy!  Goose loves some Jeopardy! and I like to feel smart.  With the not-quite-grownup editions, we both win.

Thanks for making me feel smart.

I’m thankful for leftovers.  We had dinner at my parents’ house last weekend, and we have two or three meals in leftovers sitting in the freezer right now.  This means I don’t have to cook dinner tonight, and I have my choice of my brother’s garlic pepper chicken or my dad’s yummy homemade ribs.  Decisions, decisions.

I’m thankful for my gastroenterologist.  I am so, so excited to be running again.  I wouldn’t be bouncing back without his guidance, knowledge, and support of my goals.

I’m thankful that I was nominated for CBS Chicago’s Most Valuable Blogger.  You can vote if you want.  Yes, this is a shameless plug.

I’m thankful for the kind of friendship where you can go for months without talking and pick up right where you left off.  I caught up with my friend Molly this week and we didn’t miss a beat.  Part of this is probably because she seriously stalks my blog, so I just had to get caught up on her life.  She already knew about mine.  Still, there’s something to be said for the kind of carefree, close friendship that doesn’t need constant maintenance but is always there.

And who doesn't love a girl who will carry your lip gloss in her cleavage on your wedding day and help you reapply it 97 times? (Photo: Becky Hill Photography)

I’m thankful for Whole Living magazine. It shows up at my house monthly and I don’t know why.  But it does have some pretty rad articles, so I’m going to be a little sad if it ever stops.  Probably not sad enough to subscribe, though, if I’m honest.

I’m thankful for this week’s absolutely gorgeous weather. (Knock on wood.)  It’s been in the 70s and 80s every single day this week, with a light breeze and no humidity.  What more could you ask for?  We even slept with the windows open for a few nights.  Heavenly.

Your turn. What are you thankful for today?

2 Comments

Filed under Thankful Things Thursday

2 responses to “Thankful Things Thursday: On Comebacks & Goose’s Half Marathon

  1. YAYYYY good luck with the training! It’s def. penciled in for me for next year – the full I think. So I’m interested to see how this team challenge thing works, because I think i’d go that route! Excited to read more!

    • Team Challenge only does half marathon training, but your local chapter might be willing to work with you. I know we might have someone doing the full.

      Just a word of caution: the time limit for the full marathon is 4.5 hours!

Leave a Reply

