“Just” a Half Marathon

Something dawned on me today.

This is the first time in my running career I’ve ever been training specifically for a half marathon.  I’ve run plenty of them, but it’s always been a training run for something else.

2008 Chicago Distance Classic - I have no idea what I'm doing in this picture.

It’s strange, because I think the half marathon is my favorite race distance.  It’s long enough to be a challenge, but short enough (good grief, did I just call 13.1 miles short?) that training for it doesn’t entirely take over your life.  You can rock your long runs, take a nap, and do something fun with the rest of your day.

Several times when I’ve been in full-on marathon training mode and loathing my long runs, Goose has suggested I knock it off and train for half marathons.  I tell him it’s a good idea, then finish marathon training, cross the finish line, and somehow find myself signing up for a big goal all over again.  (Please tell me I’m not the only one who does this.  Finish lines are like crack.)

2009 Chicago Rock & Roll Half Marathon - this is such a fab screen grab.

I actually think I could crank out a pretty decent time if I trained specifically for a half, tapering at the appropriate time and peaking at race day.  My current half marathon PR is 2:38:41.  I don’t want to put any pressure on my recovering self, but I really want a sub-2:30 in Vegas.  Not only would I then be able to cross two things off my 30 before 30 list in one swoop, I think it would make for a pretty satisfying comeback.

Disney Princess Half, 2011

So I’m going to go ahead and go for it.  9 minutes is a pretty sizable PR, but hey, dream big right?

What is your favorite race distance?  Also, please tell me about a time you set a PR in a big way. Help me believe, baby!

1 Comment

Filed under Run, Team Challenge

One response to ““Just” a Half Marathon

  1. Good luck with your training!!!

Leave a Reply

