Mismatched.

This is what happens when you pack your workout bag in the dark.

Gosh, look at that face. Tyra would be so proud. I should be a model.

Oh yes that is a light pink Active Band; a red, white, and blue race t-shirt; and black and hot pink bike shorts.  Good thing my cycling shoes are maroon and gray.  I looked super fly in spin class last night.  Good thing I’ve known BFF for 14 years and she’s seen me look worse.  Otherwise she might have pretended not to know me instead of saving me a bike.  But she did save me a bike (kind of, there were like 7 total people in the class) and sit next to me.

I mean, I realize all I was going to do was workout and I didn’t need to look all fancy, but usually I try to at least match my headband to my shirt.

Despite looking like a fool, I managed to get in a 45 minute run and an hour-long spin class.  I abso-freaking-lutely loved the spin instructor.  She was perky and fun without being annoying.  I got a lot sweaty.  I felt happy.  And best of all, no one made fun of my clothes.

What about you?  Do you wear matchy-matchy workout clothes?  Or are you a total mess like me?

(I’ll have the Ulcerative Colitis Q&A post up in the next few days.  Don’t hesitate to ask if you think of questions!)

9 Comments

Filed under Bike, Training

9 responses to “Mismatched.

  1. I’m a total dry tech snob with tops now, and I only buy white ones. This way I don’t have to worry about matching! haha.

    Also I buy them at Target, so no worries…I’m not breaking the bank.

  2. You know what’s bizarre? I am the frumpy, mis-matched, man-sweating girl when I work out and I actually kind of judge the matchy-matchy girls. I’m assuming it was jealousy, but I remember running next to a lady with a perky pony tail, a full face of make up, and matching purple get up. I ran next to her looking like a 12-year-boy in his grandpa’s yard clothes, but I made fun of pretty girl in my head the entire time!

    • I used to be that way about people in running skirts. And then I wore one. Love.

      But a full face of makeup? COME ON. I also hate when people are working out and talking on their cell phones. Give me a break, person. Get off your phone and work a little harder.

  3. I love this post. No, I do NOT get all matchy matchy with the workout clothes except on group bike rides, where I will agonize for hours over my outfit. But I run super early, like 4:30 a.m. most days, so it’s dark. I just grab whatever is clean. My best outfit is the hot pink Nashville Women’s Half Mar race shirt, a pair of blaze orange Nike tempo shorts complete with day-glo yellow trim and lime green Nike Frees. If it’s really humid and hot, I will add a hot pink or yellow visor to keep the hair out of my eyse. This outfit actually makes me happy when I wear it. It’s like something an old lady would wear while playing shuffleboard.

  4. I actually looked at the picture for a minute trying to figure out what was wrong with the outfit…it looked fine to me!!! That in itself should be an indicator of my problem with matching…Matching isn’t so much my problem as just TOO MANY COLORS. I believe you once told me I looked like Rainbow Brite? ;)

    (how do you like the active band?? i’ve been trying to stay away from that site… :)

Leave a Reply

